Fall Activities Book Tag

Happy October! I cannot believe it is that time of the year again. These are the best months of the year, and I am so excited to publish seasonal posts. Fall is my favorite season! Christmas will be here before we know it, too, and that is my favorite time of the year.

Let me know what your answers are to these prompts! I would love to hear.

Apple picking: a book on your TBR that looks so delicious you can’t wait to take a bite out of it

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird: A Novel: Silver, Josie: 9780593135235:  Amazon.com: Books

For this, I will pick from the books I currently have borrowed from my library. All of them look great, but I cannot wait to read the Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver. This cover just calls to me for some reason – I don’t know if it’s the colors or maybe just the style of it, but I am so excited to read this! Also, the synopsis sounds great, too.

Corn maze: a book that’s so much fun to get lost in

There are so many options I could put for this one! I have read, and reread, so many books that fit this description. It’s a toss up between two specific books, so I’ll just list them both. Coincidentally, they are both book series.

I fell in love with the writing and world in the Poppy War by R.F. Kuang. Even though it is a high fantasy and historical fiction series, it felt like I was a part of the world and I was enthralled. As for the second novel, I reread the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins last year in preparation for the new prequel novel. I was obsessed with this series years ago, and even though I have always loved it, I forgot how much and how good it truly is until I read it again. I got completely caught up with Katniss and her endeavors, and it was so much fun to be back in that world.

Haunted houses: a book that scared you silly

The Diviners : Libba Bray : 9780316126106

I don’t think I’ve ever had a book truly scare me, but the Diviners by Libba Bray did give me the creeps when I first read it. The first one specifically! This is a really good series set in 1920s New York, and follows a cast of characters whose lives become intertwined in ways they, and the readers, never anticipated. I loved it!

Pumpkin patch: the latest book you picked up (purchased)

Buy The Burning God: 3 (The Poppy War, 3) Book Online at Low Prices in  India | The Burning God: 3 (The Poppy War, 3) Reviews & Ratings - Amazon.in

The Burning God by R.F. Kuang! The Kindle version of this was on sale one day for $3, so of course I immediately bought it. I have been waiting for so long to read this! I cannot wait to get to it. I feel like I talk about this series constantly on this blog, but it is so good.

Scenic drives: a book that is lyrically beautiful

Amazon.com: The Shadow of the Wind: 9780143034902: Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Lucia  Graves: Books

The first that came to mind was the Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. This book and its writing was just beautiful. I was not one hundred percent sure how much I would like this, but I absolutely fell in love! The way the stories unfolded and intertwined was done so wonderfully, and I would highly recommend checking it out.

Pumpkin carving: a book you didn’t like and wouldn’t mind carving up

Amazon.com: Wayward Son: 9781509896882: Books

Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell. This book was a highly anticipated read for me because I loved the first novel, Carry On, so much. When I finally read it, though, it was like a completely different series with different characters. It felt so strange, and I did not like it.

Hiking: a book that was a highly enjoyable romp

Making New Plans: A Small Town Romance (Tangled River Book 1) - Kindle  edition by Smith, Leah. Literature & Fiction Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

Making New Plans by Leah Smith was really fun! I had such a good time reading this. It had an enemies-to-lovers trope which was written very well, and the romance was fantastic. And there was the small town vibe that I adore. This was definitely a hit for me!

Drinking apple cider: a sweet book to curl up under the covers with

The Magnolia Sisters Series | Michelle Major

The Magnolia Sisters by Michelle Major! I loved this one! The entire premise was great – from the new-found family to new romance. It was done so well and the relationships were so good. Highly recommend!

Jumping in a leaf pile: a book that reminds you of your childhood

I could pick so many for this one. I have a lot of fond memories surrounding books as a kid. Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park was a huge series for me, Ramona Quimby and Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary I read a million times, Bridge to Terebithia by Katherine Paterson I completely wore out the spine. Thinking about this novels I am instantly transported back to when I read them as a kid and all those nostalgic feelings start bubbling up. Partly in thanks to some of these books is why I love to read today!

Scary movie night: your favorite spooky read

I don’t typically read spooky or horror books, to be honest. However, last year, I read Ghost Moon and the Haunting of Hillwood Farm by Kathryn Knight. Both involve ghosts and the paranormal, so I think that qualifies, right? I thoroughly enjoyed these two novels. They weren’t overly spooky or too cheesy, it was just right!

Costume party: a book with an eclectic cast of characters

The Secret History - Wikipedia

This was probably the most difficult to think of, and I’m not sure why, but I’m going to pick the Secret History by Donna Tartt. If you have not read this book yet, I cannot recommend it enough. I don’t want to write too much about it, but Goodreads says “a group of eccentric misfits, under the guise of their classics professor, discover a new way of thinking and living that is a world away from their elite New England college. When they go beyond the boundaries of normal morality, they slip gradually from obsession to corruption and betrayal, and at last, into evil.” I LOVED this novel, and this could also fit under the “scenic drives” prompt in this tag as well.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Reedsy Discovery

Leave a comment