My Top Books of 2021

Happy New Year everyone! I cannot believe it is 2022. It’s crazy! I feel like December flew by.

I was in a massive reading slump this past year – I set my Goodreads reading challenge for 40 books, and I only read 18. That is so unlike me, and I hope to read more this year. I thought I’d list my top favorites out of the books I actually did read! Let me know if you read any of these and what you thought, or if they are on your TBR.

What were your top books of 2021?

(these are only in order of when I read them)

Unsub by Meg Gardiner

Amazon.com: UNSUB: A Novel (An UNSUB Novel): 9781101985526: Gardiner, Meg:  Books

This novel is about Caitlin Hendrix, who follows her father’s footsteps and becomes a detective in the homicide unit in the local police department. Her father was nearly driven to madness by the serial killer named the Prophet, and when the Prophet suddenly resurfaces twenty years after disappearing, Caitlin is on the case to catch this murderer once and for all. Even when the Prophet sets their sights on her.

For some reason, I don’t read thrillers that often. However, this one definitely grabbed my attention when it was compared to the television show Criminal Minds – that is one of my favorite shows, so I was highly intrigued by this novel and decided to pick it up. I’m so glad I did, because I really enjoyed it! It was reminiscent of the Zodiac Killer, and it kept my attention the entire time. It was well written, and I am looking forward to reading the sequel!

Hideaway by Nora Roberts

Amazon.com: Hideaway: A Novel: 9781250207104: Roberts, Nora: Books

Caitlyn Sullivan is from a family that is considered “Hollywood Royalty,” and she’s been acting since she was a kid. Her family owned a house in Big Sur and during a getaway, she was abducted. She managed to escape her kidnappers, but the nightmare didn’t stop; from there came a betrayal from someone she trusted, followed by years spent in Ireland to get away from it all. Cate eventually moved back to LA to move past her trauma and resume acting, only to be met once again by her past.

I love Nora Roberts, and this one sounded so good! I loved the plot of this, and her writing is superb. This held my attention the entire time with no problem whatsoever, and I couldn’t wait to finish. The characterization was fantastic, and the romance in this was also so good.

The Magnolia Sisters by Michelle Major

Amazon.com: The Magnolia Sisters (The Magnolia Sisters, 1): 9781335013286:  Major, Michelle: Books

Avery Keller never knew her father, so when she learned she received an inheritance after his passing, her goal was to travel to Magnolia, South Carolina, collect her dues, and get out. However, life – and her father – had other plans. She soon finds out she has two half-sisters, a complete mess of an estate left by her father, and the single dad next door catches her eye.

Grayson Atwell only has time for two things: his work as a firefighter and his daughter Violet. He never intended to fall in love again after his messy divorce, but seeing Avery’s vulnerability has revealed a protectiveness over her he never knew he had. Can he convince her that this is their chance at forever, here in Magnolia?

I had never heard of this before, but the quick synopsis and cute cover instantly grabbed my attention. I love this type of book, so I figured why not give it a try. I am so glad I did because I absolutely loved it! Easily one of my favorites. Michelle Major’s writing was so good, and the plot was interesting, and the characterization was fantastic. I love the theme of small town with newfound romance and found family. It’s great.

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai

The Right Swipe: A Novel: Rai, Alisha: 9780062878090: Amazon.com: Books

Rhiannon Hunter may have created an extremely popular dating app, but she is only focused on one thing: her career. She has time for the occasional hookup, though. One staunch rule she lives by is protecting her heart, but she’s not sure there’s any rules to go by when she meets Samson Lima. Rhiannon and the former football star hit it off and have a magical night together…then he ghosts her.

Rhiannon moves forward, burying her hurt, then runs into Samson again and stirs up old feelings. To top it all off, he’s working with one of her business rivals. He wants another chance, but is she willing to take that risk?

I heard so many good things about this, and they did not lie because this novel was fantastic! I LOVED this. The characters were great and Alisha Rai’s writing was amazing. The representation in this book was out of this world. It also included agoraphobia, which I have never read about?? It was really, really good.

Making New Plans by Leah Smith

Making New Plans: A Small Town Romance (Tangled River Book 1) - Kindle  edition by Smith, Leah. Literature & Fiction Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

Chloe is the manager of the local lodge in Tangled River, and she has so many new plans for the place. Suddenly the owner dies, and his son, Hunter, has inherited the lodge. Hunter’s plans are to come to town, sell the place, and leave.

However, Hunter’s late father has other plans. He left terms in order for Hunter to inherit: he must live and learn the inner workings of the lodge for thirty days before he can do anything with it. Hunter is dreading the month he has to spend there, and working with Chloe is no easy feat. They constantly push each other, and maybe they push just enough for them to reevaluate their lives and life plans.

This was such a great novel I found through Reedsy Discovery! I am so glad I reviewed it because it was definitely one of the best ones I’ve read this year, and easily in the top five. I fell in love with this small town of Tangled River, with Chloe, Hunter, and their friends, and with their romance. I cannot say enough good things about this! Leah Smith’s writing is so addictive and I love it. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series! (Spoiler: I will be reading and reviewing soon!!).

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

In 1879 England, Annabelle Archer is among the first of the women admitted to the University of Oxford. There is one catch that her cousin, and others, do not know: the scholarship she received came from the women’s suffrage movement. In return, she must work for and recruit others to the cause. Her first conquest: the Duke of Montgomery. While winning over Sebastian Deveraux to the cause, she fights the growing attraction she feels towards him. She can’t fall for him because he opposes everything she stands for.

Sebastian, in turn, is absolutely appalled at the gall of Annabelle and how she has found her way into his home. The real threat, however, is his feelings for her – he needs a wife of equal standing so that the legacy he has been rebuilding can remain intact. He does not need an outspoken, strong-willed commoner who will never be duchess material.

They both fight a battle within themselves, and sometimes amongst each other, regarding the growing passion ahd relationship between them. Will Annabelle learn just what it takes to topple the duke?

I can honestly say I was surprised with how much I loved this novel. The synopsis sounded good, and I love historical fiction and romance novels. But this ended up being a full 5 start book for me! I could not put this down. The plot was incredibly enthralling, and the writing was so good. The characters were great. Everything about this novel was amazing and I am excited to read the sequel (even though it follows different characters). I honestly had a hard time putting this down!

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Reedsy Discovery

Leave a comment