Beach Cottage Haven by Donna Munro | Reedsy Discovery Review

Hi everyone!

I’m sure everyone knows by now that I’m a huge fan of romance, and when I saw this novel on the Reedsy Discovery site, I knew I had to read it.

My original review can be found on Reedsy Discovery here.

Pepper Cassidy inherits the family home at Blueshell Beach, and she is eager to move there with her teen daughter. What she does not need, however, is the quiet, unfairly sexy neighbor Keegan Dallas who likes to keep to himself. Keegan, on the other hand, definitely does not need the distraction – he’s working to keep his PTSD on the right track and to gain custody of his young son.

After a tragic accident involving Keegan’s son, will they be able to come together to help him heal? And in the process, will they be able to help each other?

The cover for Beach Cottage Haven immediately caught my eye! I love beachy books, so I was definitely looking forward to this.

I really liked this book! It was well-written, and I liked Donna Munro’s writing style. The story had a nice pace, and everything felt natural. I loved the depth of this novel and that it turned out to be so much more than a standard beach romance (not that anything is wrong with that – I love the stereotypical romance!). It truly gave more substance to the characters and the story itself.

I loved the characters, especially Pepper! She was fantastic. She was tenacious and resilient, but she also had her vulnerable moments. I loved everything about her. Keegan was great, too, and I really liked the mental health representation with him.

I liked Pepper’s daughter, Livia, and the problems she had to deal with, but I had a hard time relating to her and her lingo. I don’t know if maybe the author just took random teen speak and threw it in or if I am just so out of the loop with how they talk now. I was a little befuddled with some of Liv’s dialogue, but honestly, it could just be me – some of the stuff younger people say confuses the heck out of me.

The only thing I was not a huge fan of was the breaks in between scenes, in the middle of a chapter. It was written in third person point of view, but with these breaks, it seemed like it was switching perspectives from Pepper to Keegan, and sometimes Livia. It was not a huge deal, and I actually liked the shift, but sometimes it felt a little abrupt.

This is also set in Australia, so understanding some of the things they say in the story took a little time, but it was fun and different for me to read!

Overall, I enjoyed Beach Haven Cottage! I loved Pepper and Keegan’s story, and I am thrilled I had the chance to read this.

I gave this 4 stars.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Reedsy Discovery

Leave a comment