Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore | Review

Hi everyone!

As we all know, 2021 sucked for me reading-wise. I was in a massive reading slump for most of the year. However, like I mentioned in my Top Books of 2021, I did read some really good books this past year. One of them was Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore.

In 1879 England, Annabelle Archer is among the first of the women admitted to the University of Oxford. There is one catch that her cousin, and others, do not know: the scholarship she received is funded by the women’s suffrage movement. In return, she must work for and recruit others to the cause. Her first conquest: the Duke of Montgomery. While attempting to win Sebastian Devereux to the cause, she fights the growing attraction she feels toward him. She can’t fall for him – he opposes everything she stands for.

Sebastian, in turn, is absolutely appalled at the gall of Annabelle and how she has found her way into his home. The real threat, however, are his feelings for her – he needs a wife of equal standing so that the legacy he has been rebuilding can remain intact. He does not need an outspoken, strong-willed commoner who will never be duchess material.

They both fight a battle within themselves, and sometimes amongst each other, regarding the growing passion and relationship between them. Will Annabelle learn just what it takes to topple the duke?

This novel really took me by surprise. I had a feeling going in that I would like it as it is historical fiction and that is one of my favorite genres, but wow. This was amazing! I was completely addicted to this novel; I had such a hard time putting this down. Between the plot and characters, and Evie Dunmore’s writing, it really came together so incredibly well.

The entire book felt like it flowed seamlessly. It kept a nice pace throughout the novel without feeling too slow or too fast. The buildup of both the plot and character developments felt realistic, and I was so immersed in this story that I felt like I was right there with the characters. I truly felt like I was experiencing everything alongside Annabelle. I absolutely love when a novel can draw me in like that.

The characterization was spot on. I loved Annabelle so much! She was easily my favorite character. She was so strong and stood up for what she believed in, but she had a vulnerability to her that she did not let people see. I loved her. The Duke was great as well. I really enjoyed his character and how he was portrayed – he started out as a typical man in the 1800s who really only cared about himself and his problems, but once the novel progresses and you get to know him, you see what he is truly like and how much he changes throughout the story. He was great! I also really loved Annabelle’s friends – they were so fun and I am excited for their stories in the sequels.

The chemistry between Annabelle and Sebastian was incredibly palpable. It was honestly my favorite part of the novel and kept me hooked the entire time. They complemented each other so well, and Dunmore truly brought their romance to life through the pages. It felt like they were real! I could easily see this as a series like Bridgerton.

I am a huge fan of this time period, and I adored the feministic approach this novel took. I thought it was executed well, even if some things may have seemed a little far-fetched when compared to real life stories. It was fantastic and it gave a new twist on this genre that I loved to see.

Overall, I highly, highly enjoyed this novel and I am excited to continue this series.

I gave this 5 stars.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Reedsy Discovery

Leave a comment