Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston | Review

Is it really me, posting a book review?

So, it’s been a year since I posted….sorry about that. I started a new job, and between work and school, I have been in the longest reading slump I have ever experienced in my life. I am literally just coming out of it now, believe it or not.

This past month I have already read two books, and I have bought so many (thanks Amazon Prime Day). I haven’t bought books in so long because of this slump, so to buy so many is making me feel like ME again.

I just finished Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston last night, and I just had to write a review for it.

Goodreads synopsis:

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep’s genius granddaughter, they’re the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International socialite duties do have downsides—namely, when photos of a confrontation with his longtime nemesis Prince Henry at a royal wedding leak to the tabloids and threaten American/British relations. The plan for damage control: staging a fake friendship between the First Son and the Prince.

As President Claremont kicks off her reelection bid, Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret relationship with Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations. What is worth the sacrifice? How do you do all the good you can do? And, most importantly, how will history remember you?

I had such a hard time putting this book down! I absolutely loved Casey McQuiston’s writing style – it was so easy to read and I just flew through this book. The way they describe and portray the characters was incredible. It felt like I was friends with Alex and Henry, and the rest of the group. I was right there alongside them when Alex’s mom was campaigning for her reelection, I was there with them at the New Year’s party, when Alex and Henry first started the damage control post-cake fiasco. This book was so incredibly immersive that when I would have to put it down and go back to my real life, I was disappointed.

I absolutely adored Alex and Henry, and their relationship. I could not get enough of them together. I also really enjoyed reading the scenes when they were apart – particularly Alex and his life in politics and how it affected his life. Their friends and siblings were so great as well. I loved June and Bea, but Philip (and the Queen) can go to hell.

I found it very serendipitous that the day I started this novel is the day the trailer dropped for the movie adaptation – what are the odds? I knew a movie was coming, but I had no idea how soon or even when the trailer was premiering. This is being made into a movie on Amazon, and it comes out August 11th. It looks really good, and I hope the movie is just as good as the book.

I am definitely interested in reading more from Casey McQuiston, although how other books will every top this one, I have no clue.

I gave this 5 stars – highly recommend!

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Reedsy Discovery

Leave a comment